May Javascript coding be less painfull? RRS feed

• Question

• I am new to VS, LightSwitch and to Javascript and I am finding client side Javascript coding very hard. One weak is intellisense but I know LS develpment team is working on it so we can only wait. Second is strict typing: I tried to use "use strict" but nothing changes even though in internal LS code it is used. This is very cumbersome: I forget () at the end of the function name and I have to wait runtime to see that something is wrong and work with immagination. I am performing too much times the circle code-run-imagine what is wrong-come to debug-stop it-place breakpoint-here and there-F5 -and so on. 
    Possible that VS can not help more?
    Thanks

• Edited by Morenight Tuesday, September 10, 2013 9:06 PM
    Tuesday, September 10, 2013 9:05 PM

All replies

• I agree.  I'm not sure what's new in 2013 with regards to Javascript, but can anyone confirm if it uses TypeScript, or if there is some way to natively use TypeScript (without creating .ts files and having them converted to .js)?

Free Visual Studio LightSwitch extensions: Elyl's Extensions

Wednesday, September 11, 2013 8:42 AM
  • One more thing: when debugging, I see something wrong but VS let me change it only if I close "module name in execution.js [dynamic]" (translated). But if I close it, debug session stops. I have to fix the bug and start debugging again. I think I miss something, it is not possible that VS make me waste so much time above all if compared to Microsoft Access (rarely debug session has to be restarted). Is there some setting, some key, something... ?
    Thanks
    • Edited by Morenight Wednesday, September 11, 2013 1:40 PM
    Wednesday, September 11, 2013 1:39 PM
  • Hi Morenight

Thanks for your feedback,

If we want to use JavaScript for LightSwitch HTML Client Screens, This sample provides code snippets for a number of common LightSwitch coding tasks, a detailed explanation of where and how to use the code,