none
Not having any succcess attempting to update VB6 apps to later verzions of VS (2008/2013)

Question

• Hi,

Hopefully, this is the correct forum for this question/issue.

Let me be upfront, I am a rookie developer for my company working in the test department just finishing up my associate degree in Comp Science.  I work as a tester in the test department.  My company has tasked me with updating a number of VB6 apps used in testing.  DANG. Feels like someone stole the oars.

After looking into converting the apps to a newer version of VS,  I discovered many, many changes between VB6 and VS2008/VS2013.  Better to start from scratch and miss all the errors, messages and other issues in converting.  The original apps work well in VB6 code as expected but looking into VS2008/2013 a number of methods and calls are missing.

I apologize if the terms are not correct, I am still learning.

One of the first missing calls I discovered is Winsock.  I do not find anything comparable to Winsock in VS2018 or 2013. Most of what I need to update are testing apps used to verify information in units my company makes.  The apps connect to one(or more) units and we query the internal storage for data (tags, memory locations, etc ) in the unit or PCL.

I am using VS2008 and 2013 currently.  We use Ethernet to connect and transmit data.  I have looked at the System.Net information and attempted to use the IPAddress.Connect function to no avail.  Just get the errors and messages...

What am I missing?

Ed

Wednesday, March 01, 2017 8:14 PM

Answers

• Hi Ed,

Welcome to the MSDN forum.

>> I have looked at the System.Net information and attempted to use the IPAddress.Connect function to no avail.  Just get the errors and messages...