none
Compare textbox input with Listbox existing input Visual Basic VS2010 RRS feed

• Question

• I am new to visual basic and I am stuck in my code where I try to compare the input in my textbox with the existing items in my Listbox. I used the code below but as I  click "Check", I am getting error on my iteration. The total inputs in the listbox is indefinite and depends on the user input. I hope someone can advise me. Thank you.

Below is my code for comparing for the textbox and listbox entry under Check button

Dim i = 0        
    Dim count As Integer = ListBox1.Items.Count - 1       
    Dim entry As String = ListBox1.Items.Item(i)        
    Dim scan As String = SerialTxt.Text        
    Dim SelevenNo As String = Mid(scan, 12, 5)        
    Dim EelevenNo As String = Mid(entry, 12, 5)        

If Len(SerialTxt.Text) < 16 Then            
    MsgBox("Serial Number must be 16 characters long!", vbExclamation, "Error!")            
    SerialTxt.Text = ""            
    Exit Sub        
    End If        

If SerialTxt.Text = "" Then            

MsgBox("Enter some data")            

Exit Sub        
    End If        

ListBox1.Items.Add(scan)        

If CLng(QtyRemaining.Text) = 0 Then            
    MsgBox("You have exceeded the sampling quantity!", vbExclamation, "Error!!!")            
    Exit Sub        
    End If                    
    If count > 1 Then            
    If StrComp(Mid(scan, 1, 11), (Mid(entry, 1, 11)), vbTextCompare) Then                ListBox1.Items.Add(scan)                
    MsgBox("Equal!!")           
    End If
    End If
    End Sub

Thursday, March 21, 2019 5:03 AM

Answers

• Hi,

Your method becomes StrComp again, and the StrComp function returns the following value:

-1( string1 < string2)
    0 ( string1 = string2)
    1 ( string1 > string2)

so you should fix your code:

If StrComp((Mid(scan, 1, 11)), CStr(Mid(entry, 1, 11)), vbTextCompare) <> 0 Then

MsgBox("Not Equal")

End If

Best Regards,

Alex