none
Embedded Internet Explorer RRS feed

• Question

• Hi you guys.

I am working on a project that needs to display an image and place objects on top of it. Furthermore, the entire picture with objects needs to be able to rotate on screen.
    I have been working with HTML for a couple of years, so I figured that I would simply add an IE object and use this.

The IE object was added, but most JavaScripts failed horribly. After some debugging, I found that the IE object identified itself as IE7. IE7 does not handle JavaScript like we do now. I found some Registry changes to change this after a few hour Google search. I have now tried IE7, IE10 and IE11 using this Registry edit (on a Windows 10 computer) with the same result.

Is there a way for me to embed a web browser directly by pointing to the .exe file or an OCX object? And how would I be able to communicate with this?

Any ideas would be highly appreciated.

Thanx in advance, Geir Moen

Monday, July 2, 2018 9:54 AM

Answers

• The WebBrowser control in Winforms is horribly out of date and based upon a (no longer supported) version of IE.

Actually the WebBrowser control is a wrapper around the same thing that IE uses; the WebBrowser control is IE. I wish I had bookmarked some pages that make things real clear but see Building ActiveX Controls for Internet Explorer; it says "the WebBrowser Control (SHDOCVW) and MSHTML".

Oooh! There it is! See the link to About the Browser (Internet Explorer). That makes it very clear with diagrams and such. 

Sam Hobbs
    SimpleSamples.Info

• Marked as answer by Geir Moen Friday, July 6, 2018 12:28 AM
    Monday, July 2, 2018 9:24 PM

All replies