none
"Position:fixed" by different screen resolution RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I want to use an object, which sell stay fixed by scrolling. So far I used "".

The problem is, that on screen with different resolution the object does not fit into the page as need.

example:
    www.ceskeafery.cz

The purpose is, that the two object would be exactly next to each other.

Thanks a lot.

Thursday, August 15, 2013 1:43 PM

All replies

• I would guess (and could be wrong here) but Position: Fixed and Position: absolute may be causing the issues.

The yellow box does stay fixed in place (doesn't scroll) but the black bar "moves out of place" (if that is what you're meaning) if the browser window is re-sized (and probably if screen resolution changed).

I'm no expert in CSS but your code kind of looks wrong to me - can't really explain why.

Your inline styles start "style=;"  (there's no need for that semi-colon).  No real need for height definition, as the content will determine the height of the div.

ID of "Layer25" is not defined as anything in the page and therefore has no relevance there.

As above, the absolute and fixed positioning are probably the issue.  Try using padding and margin more effectively to position the objects

<div id="reklamavpravo"   style="; width: 270px; height: 540px; z-index: 7; margin:auto; left:50px; top: 150px" class="auto-style66"></div>

<div id="layer25" style="; width: 880px; height: 90px; z-index: 9; left: 50px; top: 681px" class="auto-style65"></div>

A couple of resources explaining positioning:

(1) CSS-Tricks.Com

(2) W3C Schools

I'm sure someone well versed in this can point you in the right direction.

Andrew M

http://www.murraywebs.com

"Nothing spoils numbers faster than arithmetic!"
    -- Peppermint Patty (Peanuts, Charles M. Schulz)

• Edited by AndrewOZ1 Thursday, August 15, 2013 10:37 PM more info
    Thursday, August 15, 2013 10:16 PM