Application unstable RRS feed

• Question

• I've been programming (hobby) software in Java for a couple of years. Recently I switched to .NET and found out that .NET applications are generally less stable than those written in Java. They often crash when I try to close the main form and they crash more often now as the size of the application gets bigger. I never had those problems in Java even with 5000-line programs. I use this to exit the application when I close the main form:
    [code]
    this.Closing+=delegate{ Environment.Exit(0); };
    [/code]
    Is it because I dont follow general software-engineering principles or because of something else?
    Friday, January 16, 2009 9:29 PM

Answers

• Run your program, close it so it is zombied.  Switch to the IDE, Tools + Attach to Process.  Select your running process, Debug + Break All.  Look at the call stacks of the threads.
    Hans Passant.
    • Marked as answer by Linda Liu Wednesday, January 21, 2009 7:36 AM
    Saturday, January 17, 2009 9:42 PM

All replies

• Calling Environment.Exit() in the Closing event is a Bad Idea.  Just don't, it doesn't need any help.
    Hans Passant.
    • Proposed as answer by Javier Campos Saturday, January 17, 2009 7:55 AM
    Saturday, January 17, 2009 2:13 AM
  • nobugz is right, but I'd say even more: calling Environment.Exit from a Windows.Forms application is never a good idea (doing it on the Closing event is just worse). If you need to terminate an application which was started using Application.Run() (i.e., has a message loop), do it by closing its main form if it has one (preferred way), or with Application.Exit() if it doesn't;

Before I speak, I have something important to say.
    Saturday, January 17, 2009 7:54 AM
  • If I dont call Environment.Exit() when the main form is closed, the application remains in the process list even when it is closed. So it wont start the next time (if I change the source file and recompile).
    It says something like