none
Need help with CMD prompt

Question

• Can anyone help me I have limited knowledge of VS and here is my problem :

Outside of VS i have a batch file which runs some diagnostics for me on another device. What normally happens is when I  run it it opens the command prompt and populates it with a password prompt when the password is entered it runs the script.

What I want to do is :

I have now created a form which four buttons on (one for each script i have) and when button is pushed it runs the script .

I have managed to get VS to open the command promt and the password prompt is sitting there waiting ,however when i put the password in the command prompt closes and does not seem to do any thing ,anyone have any ideas please

Tuesday, August 09, 2016 5:44 PM

Answers

• Hi,

as someone said already: It is quite likely that the Run_me* scripts are simply not found.

If they are inside the same directory as the script that you started, then you could use %~dp0 which holds the directory of the current script.

So the Script could be changed to:

@echo off
    set PW=
    set /P PW=Enter password: %=%
    if defined PW if "%PW:~10,1%"=="" goto oldversion
    cls
    %~dp0Run_me_v8.bat %pw% > resultsv8.txt
    :oldversion
    cls
    %~dp0Run_me_v18.bat %pw% > resultsv18.txt

There is no \ between the %~dp0 and the following command because that is already included in this special variable.

With kind regards,

Konrad

Thursday, August 11, 2016 9:32 AM

All replies

• What is the scripting language?  How does the batch file launch the script?  How does the batch file display the password prompt?
    Tuesday, August 09, 2016 5:50 PM
  • Hi

They were created in psexec i have tried dd pasting the files but does not work so i have copied the text

@echo off
    set PW=
    cls
    Run_me_v8.bat %pw% > resultsv8.txt
    cls
    Run_me_v18.bat %pw% > resultsv18.txt

Tuesday, August 09, 2016 6:16 PM