none
'DataSource' is ambiguous in the namespace 'MSDATASRC'

Question

• I am new to VB.Net and am in the process of upgrading a VB6 enterprise application (I know, about time).   I have read other posts dealing with this same and similar titles but still have not found a solution to my problem.   I am using VS 2008.

I know I need to convert to ADO.NET, but am trying to get this project at least working and then convert sections at a time as we are able to dedicate the time.   My project has an ADO data control and a hierarchical flexgrid control and the upgrade wizard generated this code in MyformA.Designer.vb in the Declarations section:

Public WithEvents AdodcCust As VB6.ADODC  

Public WithEvents msgCustomer As AxMSHierarchicalFlexGridLib.AxMSHFlexGrid

The AdodcCust definition was accompanied by the error message:

Error        21        Reference required to assembly 'MSDATASRC, Version=7.0.3300.0, Culture=neutral,

PublicKeyToken=b03f5f7f11d50a3a' containing the implemented interface 'msdatasrc.DataSource'.

Add one to your project.

I did that, finding a reference named msdatasrc in the .NET tab of references, and referencing the file in c:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft.Net\Primary Interop Assemblies\msdatasrc.dll

The upgrade wizard also created the following in MyformA.Designer.vb:

#Region "Upgrade Support"
        Public Sub VB6_AddADODataBinding()
            msgCustomer.DataSource = CType(AdodcCust, msdatasrc.DataSource)
        End Sub
        Public Sub VB6_RemoveADODataBinding()
            msgCustomer.DataSource = Nothing
        End Sub
    #End Region

The bold text "msdatasrc.DataSource" is now generating the error message in the title of this post.

Looking in Object Browser, I find 2 entries for msdatasrc.   the first references Interop.MSDATASRC that I find in my project files under obj\debug\interop.msdatasrce.dll.   The second entry references the PIA file I added above.