How to create a polygon from Geography data type to a polygon on Bing Maps C# RRS feed

• Question

• Hi , I am very new to the SQL Server Spatial methods

After reading numerous posts in MSDN forums on how to get a geography data type in SQL Server 2008  to a polygon on Bing Maps .

I am left very confused , many of the methods suggested add too much functionality .

I would like to avoid converting my Geography type to WKT or WKB as far as possible.

Although if doing so is totally impossible , please help me on how to get it to WKT/WKB and back for display in Bing Maps.

My basic goal is to just fetch all the polygons stored in my geography column from my database and just draw them on the Bing Maps at loading.But i am unable to do this basic thing too as i am being led to solutions that do not address my basic requirements.

Please help me out

PS:I am using Bing Maps Silverlight API

Saturday, April 24, 2010 11:04 AM

Answers

• Hi George,

We've done something similar, and unfortunately there is no solution (out of the box) such re-using the Microsoft.Sqlserver.Types assembly from SQL Server 2008, for Silverlight (ie the Bing Maps Control) which only uses a subset of the .NET Framework. The problem is that the SQL assembly uses unmanaged code, and requires a port compilation to SL, which is not currently available (yet).

More info can be found here: https://connect.microsoft.com/SQLServer/feedback/ViewFeedback.aspx?FeedbackID=299338