Web Deployment Project Newbie with questions RRS feed

• Question

• User-1937378318 posted

Hi all,

First off all: I know this is long but I don't know how to condense this without skipping important details. Please bear with me and try to at least scan what I wrote. I am sure you can help if you have successfully used Web Deployment Projects in VS2008

I am new to web deployment projects and I am bit confused and in need of help. I am hoping you guys can point me in the right direction for more documentation and/or help.

I am using VS2008 SP1 under XP Pro and my primary reason for using Web Deployment Project(WDP) is the need to update web.config when a project is ready for release or testing, as well as wanting to eliminate all debug code before updating the production server. We are still using web project rather than web sites, because most of our applications are small projects for internal use only. All our web applications are installed under the default web site in a virtual directory, and run as totally independent applications.

I am trying to build a WDP for a test application I created for just that purpose and would like to use the WDP as input for a setup project and then use the resulting MSI file to install the web application on our test server and eventually on the production server. The WDP should modify the DB connection strings in the web.config and compile everything so it can be installed as a web application in a virtual directory under the default website. So I set the following options in the WDP Property pages:

Compilation page: Output Folder is .\Release\ and "allow this precompiled Site to be updatable" is checked.

Output Assemblies page: Merge all outputs to a single Assembly is selected and I left the default name. Under Merge Options I set the version numbers to 1.1.1.1 for both Assembly and file 

Signing page: nothing is set here

Deployment page:Enable web.config file section replacement is checked and I entered