Multiple context and entity framework. RRS feed

• Question

• Hi everyone,

I have a WCF application (sessionMode required, so every client has its own session) that serves multiple clients. Wcf app works against a MsSql database through EF5 (unitOfWork & repository patterns used); I develop an architecture model that for every session I have one EF context. This obviously generate concurrency and refresh problems on entities cached by the context: now if I have an entity modified in db by a user, others can't see that modify because other contexts continue to retrieve old data cached by them. I'm seeing a lot of solutions, very dispersive for me, in Internet.

So I ask: what is the better solution for these problems? I am relatively new with EF, so I'm spending a lot of time to find THAT solution....

Thanks in advance,

Gianni Ghezzi.

Gianni Ghezzi

Monday, October 29, 2012 10:49 AM

Answers

• Dear Alexander,

thanks for your reply again. I've found a solution, I think it can be a good compromise: I shorten the lifetime of the context, according to some best practices I found in Internet. In my project I use repository and unit of work pattern; the lifetime of the context was equal to that of the session of Wcf; now is strictly sufficient to serves a single method of every session, after that the context is disposed using GC.SuppressFinalyze(context), hoping that this can helps in performance. Sure, I have some overload (every method requests for a new context) but now I haven't no more concurrency or it can be generated sometimes, resolved using the dbconcurrencyexception.

Thanks a lot for your replies, I hope this can be useful for everyone who looks for similar problems.

Gianni Ghezzi.

Gianni Ghezzi

• Marked as answer by Gianni Ghezzi Saturday, November 3, 2012 5:09 PM
    Saturday, November 3, 2012 5:08 PM

All replies