none
Promoting backend changes RRS feed

• Question

• I am new to developing in Access, but not new to DB application development. Previously I have worked with separate instances for Development, Test, and Production. The metadata of objects changed in Dev were captured in packages and applied to the test environment for testing before being promoted to Production. This is the best practices for numerous applications (SAP, Oracle Financial, Banner® by Ellucian, etc.)

My question is: Are there resources available to explain the software development lifecycle for MS Access development (in detail)?

With the front end I just distribute a new copy to the user base after I develop the changes they requested. I have no idea how to manage changes to the back end. I am using Access 2013.

The state of my project is that I am almost done with phase 1 of development and ready to deploy a production copy. I have not split the database yet. There are several other phases planned for deployment, which will involve changes to the database structure (new tables, columns, and relationships).

Before I deploy the application I want to make sure I have a clear understanding of how I can deploy future changes. Phase 1 will be deployed to a user base and they will start entering data. Development of phase 2 will then begin. When phase 2 is deployed the production copy of the database will need to be updated without losing any of the data that was entered by the users of phase 1. Phase 2 will add users that will also be entering data. The same will hold true for phase 3 where database changes will need to be applied without losing any of the existing data.

My previous roles were as an analyst, so the developer role is a bit new to me. I have an understanding of the concepts, but how to make it happen isn't always clear to me. Therefore I could use some detailed documentation.

Thanks!!

Monday, December 7, 2015 5:30 PM

All replies