Help on .net App Dev or .net Web Dev,,,Helpp RRS feed

• Question

•  

Hi all,

I am an MCSE and I want to change careers from support to development. But, I am finding it difficult to decide to go the .net Web route or the .net AppDev route

My study plan is as below.

Exam 70–431: TS: Microsoft SQL Server 2005 - Implementation and Maintenance              

And

Exam 70–528: TS: Microsoft .NET Framework 2.0 - Web-Based Client Development            

Then

Exam 70–536: TS: Microsoft .NET Framework 2.0 - Application Development Foundation     

Or

Exam 70-526: TS: Microsoft .NET Framework 2.0 – Windows-Based Client Development

What am I letting myself in for? and also which avenue is more lucrative.

One last question, I have little experience in coding and the books state that I need a little experience in coding, but which flavor and can anyone please recommending a beginners book.   

I’m sorry for all these questions but I would rather get it right at the beginning than have to change later on down the road.

In advance Thanks very much......

Wednesday, February 6, 2008 4:33 PM

Answers

•  

No problems at all.  I'd also get into the distributed certification too, they're all useful in the context of writing software generally, as you have the full picture, in terms of certifications at least.

It will definitely help your knowledge, and will give you good coverage of areas that will be useful.  That experience making coffees, and learning as a junior will give you a good chance to be a great developer in the future.  Good luck.

If you find my answers helpful, please could you select "yes" for did you find this post helpful, please?

Good luck with your studies, and subsequent experience!

Martin Platt.

Thursday, February 7, 2008 1:27 AM

All replies

• Hi,

Not really an architecture question, but I will try to answer it anyway.