none
WCF Headache with HTTP auth for User Name and Password trying to access PeopleSoft CI RRS feed

• Question

• All,

I am trying to make a .net WCF call that I think should be simple but has proved incredibly difficult. I could really use some help and in full disclosure I am a WCF newbie. Here's the scenario:

1. I am trying to call a PeopleSoft CI web service, from C#, that is secured with a user name and password on the PeopleSoft side.
    2. The core problem is that the security headers, such as username and password, are not being sent correctly to the PeopleSoft web service.
    3. I have done a lot of research and made a lot of attempts over the last several days and made some progress but the bottom line is that I can not get this to work.
    4. The items presented below are my original starting blocks and I will not cloud the thread with all of the options I have tried.
    5. The original WSDL pointed to a standard HTTP site. I have tried this with HTTPS as well thinking this would solve the problem. No luck
    6. The web service schema is the following:

<HEADER>
          <USERID>myID</USERID>
          <PASSWORD>????</PASSWORD>
          <LANGUAGE_CD>ENG</LANGUAGE_CD>
        </HEADER>
        <that>Ithid</that>
        <Strcurrent_action>target</Strcurrent_action>
        <Strnew_action>action</Strnew_action>
        <StractionConfirm>action</StrpasswordConfirm>
      </MyAction__This__Stuff_SELF>
      • I generated the C# class and config file from svcutil. The app.config appears as such:

<system.serviceModel>
            <bindings>
                <basicHttpBinding>
                    <binding name="MyStuff_Binding" />
                </basicHttpBinding>
            </bindings>
      • I make the call with the following code:

MyStuff_PortTypeClient client = new MyStuff_PortTypeClient("MyStuff_Port"); client.ClientCredentials.UserName.UserName = "MyLogon"; client.ClientCredentials.UserName.Password = "MyPassword";