Poor performance of api for loading all contacts in windows phone

Question

• Hi

I am a c# developer who is developing applications for windows phone 8.1 and windows 8.1 .

Since I need to develop applications for both platform I chosen  xaml c# [for Windows phone 8.1 &windows 8.1] istead of silverlight  . So that I can easily use the same api for both windows phone and windows 8.1 .

Now I am creating a company application and in which Need to sync our mobile contacts with server. And I used Quickstart: Selecting user contacts Windows Phone Store app using C++, C#, or Visual Basic for getting all contacts.

ContactStore contactStore = await ContactManager.RequestStoreAsync();
        IReadOnlyList<Contact> contacts = null;
        // Find all contacts
        contacts = await contactStore.FindContactsAsync();

But the api performance so poor compared to Silver light. It takes 40 to 50 seconds to load  1000 contacts. At the same time a silverlight app took for same is about 6 to 7 seconds.

Also there is no option for filtering contacts in Windows 8.1. Since we don't want to take facebook and twitter contacts from the phone I need to filter those kind of contacts. Even sometimes I need to take contacts with phone numbers. This useful options are not available on this version of api even this is very fundamental.

Why you developers is not providing this kind of facilities or performance to the app ? Now I am worried about not choosing silverlight for developing my application.

anoop m

Thursday, March 12, 2015 7:54 AM

All replies

• I can confirm it!

I wrote an universal app this week and for 50 contacts, it need up to 4 seconds (1 second for 10 contacts)!

The entire API seems still in a beta version compared to the Silverlight API... Each time I want to develop an app, I don't know if I should use Silverlight or create an universal app with all problems the APIs has.