none
Generic class inherits from a non-generic class? RRS feed

• Question

• I've been reading about how to do what the title says but I can't find a definitive set of rules or many articles don't even mention this case. For instance: here. I'm totally new to C# generics but I hope you understand what I'm trying to do:

// I can't edit this class as it's part of a library

public abstract class ScriptableObject { //... } public abstract class Unit<T> : ScriptableObject where T : Unit { public T connection; } public class CameraUnit : Unit<MonitorUnit> { // assign a MonitorUnit to connection } public class MonitorUnit : Unit<CameraUnit> { // assign a CameraUnit to connection }

The underlined `Unit` in the code throws this error:

"Using the generic type 'Unit<T>' requires 1 type arguments".

The underlined `MonitoUnit` throws:

"The type 'CameraUnit' cannot be used as type [...]. There's no implicit conversion from 'CamerUnit' to  'Unit'".

My question is more about where to read about this (generic derived from non-generic) than about the errors, which BTW I have no idea where they could arise from.

Thanks in advance.

Tuesday, January 16, 2018 12:07 AM

Answers

• Hello andreiMarianMirea,

>>"Using the generic type 'Unit<T>' requires 1 type arguments".

The issue is that you don't have a Unit class, you just have a generic class Unit<T>. You need to define a Unit class.

public class Unit
    	{
    	}
    public abstract class Unit<T> : ScriptableObject where T:Unit
    	{
    		public T connection;
    	}

>>"The type 'CameraUnit' cannot be used as type [...]. There's no implicit conversion from 'CamerUnit' to  'Unit'".

The issues always occur with generic classes covariance and contravariance, which are related to inheritance of type parameters. The MSDN document has detailed discussion here.

The quickly fixed as below.

public class CameraUnit:Unit
    	{
    	}
    public class MonitorUnit : Unit<CameraUnit>
    	{