none
[EF 4.0]Query for pseudocode WHERE field1.contains(valueString) OR field2.contains(valueString) RRS feed

• Question

• Hi everyone!  I am fairly new to LINQ - but especially to the subset of LINQ to Entities.  I am having trouble forming the LINQ version for certain queries, as it seems like it is limited in the query language and is not as flexible as straight SQL. 

I currently am creating a search where the users enter keyword(s) that they want to find in the records.  The search should check if any of the fields in the entity contain the keyword (or a combination of keywords).  I think I know how to get the logic together of searching against the keywords; however, I can't seem to translate the equivalent SQL into a valid LINQ to Entities query.

A stripped down version of the code that I have tried is as follows:

IQueryable<EntityName> searchResults = 
    context.EntityName.Where
    ((s => s.MasterITServices.Contains(value) == true) || 
    (s=> s.Name.Contains(value) == true));

I also tried the following:

IQueryable<EntityName> searchResults = 
    from e in context.Entity
    where (e.Field1.Contains(value) ||
    e.Field2.Contains(value))
    select e;

If any of you could provide some guidance of this, I would very much appreciate it.  Thank you in advance for your help!
    • Edited by Laura Kay Wednesday, September 19, 2012 2:43 PM Added EF version
    Wednesday, September 19, 2012 2:39 PM

Answers

• Well, I figured out the solution.  It turns out that I forgot that the second field was an integer, and I was trying to do a 'Contains' on the integer field. The syntax of contains.("") || contains.("") works if the variable types are correct.  

Thanks for your help!

Wednesday, September 19, 2012 3:30 PM

All replies

• Hmm, usually EF can recognize Contains(). Is there some exception or unexpected result in your case?

Wednesday, September 19, 2012 3:02 PM