none
Connection between comboboxes RRS feed

• Question

• Hello, 

I am new in C# and I have the follow problem: I have created a database as follow: Table1(Key1, Name), Table2(Key2, Name), Table3(Key1, Key2). I have a windows form application with 2 comboboxes. I have already load my first combobox with the "Name" of Table1 as follow:

private void Form1_Load(object sender, EventArgs e)
            {
                SqlConnection conn = new SqlConnection(@"");
                conn.Open();
                SqlCommand sc = new SqlCommand("select Key1, Name from Table1", conn);
                SqlDataReader reader;

reader = sc.ExecuteReader();
                DataTable dt = new DataTable();
                dt.Columns.Add("Key1", typeof(string));
                dt.Columns.Add("Name", typeof(string));
                dt.Load(reader);

comboBox3.ValueMember = "Key1";
                comboBox3.DisplayMember = "Name";
                comboBox3.DataSource = dt;

conn.Close();
            }
    Then I tried to fill my second combobox by using the sql phrase "SqlCommand cmd = new SqlCommand("Select Table2.Name from Table1, Table2,  Table3 where temp='" + comboBox3.SelectedItem + "'", conn);"

That I don't know is how I will do something like that? Is it right to use the same code in again? And how I will appear and save the "temp" value?

Thank you.

Saturday, November 8, 2014 3:56 PM

Answers

• Sorry for the slow reply, Kelly. I hope this helps.

You can use the comboBox3.SelectedValue in your SQL query, since you've specified Key1 as the ValueMember. Your SqlCommand could look something like this (notice that I'm using string.Format() to get the query string ... it's easier to read and easier to use:

string QueryString = string.Format("SELECT Name FROM Table2 JOIN Table3 ON Table3.Key2 = Table2.Key2 AND Table3.Key1 = '{0}'", comboBox3.SelectedValue);
    SqlCommand cmd = new SqlCommand(QueryString, conn);

~~Bonnie DeWitt [C# MVP]