none
How to save XYZ-data to textfile? RRS feed

• Question

• Hi

I'm totally new to C# and need some help.

I would like to save a textfile with the X,Y, and Z data in three columns. The file should be saved
    for example when a key is pressed and I would like to incorporate this function into the Skeletal Viewer-example.

I guess I should use the "SkeletonEngine.DepthImageToSkeleton"-function but I don't understand how.

Could someone please write those few lines of code for me?

/Tobias

Monday, July 25, 2011 12:09 PM

Answers

• Thanks Eddy. Now it works.
    Below is an example of how to write XYZ in three columns to a textfile: 

StreamWriter writer = new StreamWriter("myfile.txt");
    writer.WriteLine("X Y Z");
    for (int i = 0; i < Image.Bits.Length; i += 2)
    {
    	int depthPixel = (Image.Bits[i+1] << 8) | Image.Bits[i];
    	int x = (i/2) % 320; // Because image width is 320 pixels
    	int y = (i/2) / 320;

Microsoft.Research.Kinect.Nui.Vector realWorldPos = 
    		nui.SkeletonEngine.DepthImageToSkeleton(((float)x)/320.0f, ((float)y)/240.0f, (short)depthPixel);

// Store value of realWorldPos
    	writer.WriteLine(realWorldPos.X +" "+ realWorldPos.Y +" "+ realWorldPos.Z);
    }
    writer.Close();
    Thursday, August 4, 2011 6:36 AM

All replies

• using (StreamWriter writer = new StreamWriter("myfile.txt")
    {
      writer.Write("X=");
      writer.WriteLine(x);
    }

That shows the basics of writing to a file. Write is overloaded to write any of the base types as text. WriteLine starts a new line after writing the specified value. That isn't a recomendation for format. Personally if I were going to import it as csv into Excel I would just write the depth value 640/320 values to a row seperated by "," or tabs and 480/240 rows. The pixel coordinate can be implied by the row and column it's in.