none
Populate Access ListBox with Distinct/Unique Values RRS feed

• Question

• I'm a CS student in my 4th year, my professor wont grade my assignment because i didn't populate a ListBox correctly (I got a 10/200 but i have an option to turn in 1 revision). The ListBox named "lstCateName" displays a property type (castle, villa, manor) from a table named "tblProperty" on a form called "frmType".

My problem is with getting the ListBox to display only one of each Property type (Only 3 options instead of many same repeating options, had an image but it won't let me upload it on here).

I need it to only display 3 options, "castle", "villa", and "manor". I have looked endlessly for the solution to no avail. There are some tutorials out there that focus on Excel and use VBA which i am not familiar with nor do i know how to implement into an Access Database.

[EDIT]

This is what i currently have in the property sheet for the ListBox under the Row Source

[CODE]SELECT DISTINCT tblProperty.PropertyID, tblProperty.PropertyType FROM tblProperty ORDER BY tblProperty.[PropertyType];[/CODE]

The PropertyID property is hidden form what i recall.
    • Edited by Globz Sunday, December 8, 2019 6:19 AM additional information
    Sunday, December 8, 2019 6:03 AM

All replies

• Set the Row Source to

SELECT DISTINCT PropertyType FROM tblProperty ORDER BY PropertyType

Set Column Count to 1, and leave Column Widths blank.

Regards, Hans Vogelaar (http://www.eileenslounge.com)

Sunday, December 8, 2019 8:33 AM
  • The solution Hans has given you will solve your problem, but it does point to a more fundamental error in the database design.