A question about Key Valut access controls RRS feed

• Question

• Hello

Can someone please help me with the following question, thanks

I am new to key valut and just read the following docuemnt https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/azure/key-vault/key-vault-secure-your-key-vault

it explained the difference between the management plane (ARM, I think this is also called the Control Plane) and the Data plane however unless I am reading it incorrectly the document appears to contradict itself. Therefore can some please clarify my understanding of key fault (and correct me if/where I am wrong).

As far as I understand it the via the 'management pain' (once authenticated and assuming you have rights) you can

1) create key values,
    2) and set attribute/settings for the key vault
    3) grant RBAC to the key vault for AAD users or groups of your choosing.

However I believe you cannot

a) create keys
    b) use keys for signing or verification
    c) encrypt data with the keys
    d) use the secrets in the key vault (e.g. use a password from the keyfault to logon to a system)

If my understand above correct? if not please correct me where relevent

Also

From the Data Plane I understand you can do all of the above in a,b,c,d but none of the operations in 1,2,3 above

is this correct?

My main reason for wanting to understand the difference between Management and Data Planes is who can 'create' or 'delete' keys and how can use these keys to 'sign and encrypt' (I believe these are both under the data plane at the moment)

Thanks All

__AAnotherUser

ut' you cannot create a key or use an exisitng key to sign data or use the secrets contained on the key vault

AAnotherUser__

Friday, September 22, 2017 12:38 PM

Answers

• Hi,