Go to new record on opening form RRS feed

• Question

• I'm using access 2007 and everytime i open my form it goes to the first record. The problem with this is that other people using this form are typing over the existing record. Even though i put a button on the form labeled "New Record". Is there a way to have the form open to the new record automatically. I have no access experience or coding stuff. Or maybe a way to lock the existing records so they can't be written over. I tried to search for the answer with no luck.

I'm probably doing this all wrong, but hey its easier than a paper log book. :)

Thanks in advance.

Tuesday, April 24, 2012 12:48 PM

Answers

• If your users are only entering new data and they do not need to look back at older records, you can change the form to Data Entry mode.  In this mode,  when they open the form, it automatically goes to the new record and does not show any others.  Thereafter,users will only see the records they have actually created in the current session. 

To do this, open the form in Design view and look at the Properties under the Data Tab.  Set Data Entry property to Yes.

-- Roger Carlson
    MS Access MVP 2006-2012
    www.rogersaccesslibrary.com

• Marked as answer by Jrmy1 Tuesday, April 24, 2012 1:05 PM
    Tuesday, April 24, 2012 12:57 PM

All replies

• If your users are only entering new data and they do not need to look back at older records, you can change the form to Data Entry mode.  In this mode,  when they open the form, it automatically goes to the new record and does not show any others.  Thereafter,users will only see the records they have actually created in the current session. 

To do this, open the form in Design view and look at the Properties under the Data Tab.  Set Data Entry property to Yes.

-- Roger Carlson
    MS Access MVP 2006-2012
    www.rogersaccesslibrary.com

• Marked as answer by Jrmy1 Tuesday, April 24, 2012 1:05 PM
    Tuesday, April 24, 2012 12:57 PM
  • Hi,