none
Insert Multiple Images Into SQL RRS feed

• Question

• First of all, I'd like to point out that I'm very new to programming and still learning.

I'm trying to insert multiple images into my table with a click of a button. I have my images stored in a folder and the file names of these images match with ID column in my SQL Table.

My table has 30 Columns and 5000 rows. I'm able to connect my table but I just don't know how to insert all images in this folder to my table with matching ID. (i.e If ID=123456 I want to insert an image file named 123456.jpg to the column named Photo)

Below is my code and any help would be appreciated. By the way, Column Photo is varbinary(max)

Dim con As SqlConnection
        Dim cmd As SqlCommand

Dim ds As New DataSet

con = New SqlConnection("server=MY-PC; Initial Catalog=Northwind;Integrated Security=SSPI")
        cmd = New SqlCommand()
        con.Open()
        cmd.Connection = con

BindingSource1.DataSource = 

cmd.CommandText = "SELECT * FROM Northwind Where ID like '" + TextBox1.Text + "'"
            ' dr = cmd.ExecuteReader
            Dim adapter As New SqlDataAdapter(cmd)
            Dim table As New DataTable
            adapter.Fill(table)
            BindingSource1.DataSource = table
            DataGridView1.DataSource = BindingSource1
    Monday, April 29, 2019 4:55 PM

Answers

• Hello,

The following does one image at a time, it's possible to use the same code to iterate a folder and do many at once, it will work but there are ways to optimize if speed is an issue.

Example data class

Imports System.Data.SqlClient

Public Class DataOperations
        Private ConnectionString As String = "Your connection string"
        Public Sub InsertImage(pIdentifier As Integer, pImageBytes As Byte())
            Dim updateStatement = "UPDATE dbo.Categories SET [Picture] = @Picture WHERE CategoryID = @ID"

Using cn = New SqlConnection(ConnectionString)