none
Windows Device Driver Development for Desktop and Server RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I want to develop a  Device Driver for Windows Desktop,windows 7 is running on that PC.

I am new to Windows Desktop Driver Development.

Can any one please suggest me the exact way to approach my goal.

I have already installed Visual Studio Express 2013 for Windows Desktop and WDK 8.1,so i want to start with sample driver development  and test the same if any suggestions will be appreciated.

Thanks in advance.....

Thanks & Regards,

Shaik.

Mujeeb Shaik

Thursday, November 20, 2014 6:45 AM

Answers

All replies

• see my response in https://social.msdn.microsoft.com/Forums/windowsdesktop/en-US/f613df0d-2928-4166-9f74-d10b42f91125/virtual-joystick-devices?forum=wdk

pg - This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no rights.

Thursday, November 20, 2014 6:55 AM
  • Everything you need can be found in the WDK docs, but if you want to get up to speed quickly, then take a class

-Brian

Azius Developer Training www.azius.com Windows device driver, internals, security, & forensics training and consulting. Blog at www.azius.com/blog

Thursday, November 20, 2014 8:28 AM
  • Hi Pankaj,

Thanks for your reply...

I have created demo Driver and built successfully i have added some Debug messages in that,

i want to test my demo driver without connecting some other(Target)PC ,in my Host PC itself  can you  suggest me the way to test as i requested.

Thanks & Regards,

Mujeeb Shaik

Thursday, November 20, 2014 8:45 AM
  • unlike app development, we don't recommend nor support deploying a test driver on the machine you are developing on. It is a two machine workflow with the second machine being the one where you install and run the driver. Furthermore, you cannot run the kernel debugger locally against the local machine, so to debug you need two machines. the second machine can be a VM, not a physical machine