none
Excel 2010 VBA - Methods & Performance of Data Import (Tables, CSV, XML, ...) RRS feed

• Question

• Hi everyone, the general question here is

What is a really great input/load/output data management strategy for a VBA tool?

Background

I'm an amateur developer, making a tool for work which generally reads in input files (or loading a full 'schedule'), manipulates data, plots a timeline gantt chart of events, generates a 'schedule file', and is capable of overwriting input data and generating reports. The project is in its earliest stages, and only myself and a few coworkers will be using the tool.

I am seeking the best-performing data import paradigm that is native to Excel 2010, with VBA procedures. With a fair bit of research on Excel, I still don't know the best way to store, manage, load into memory, etc. the inputs and outputs for this tool. My best idea so far is manage the input data in Excel Tables and generate a CSV/XML/TXT file for each input table, with the expectation that I would load the exported file into memory at runtime.

Environment

• Windows 7 Professional (company)
    • Yes we have SharePoint..
    • Excel 2010, VBA
    • No Internet access
    • Files stored in company network

Assumptions

• Tool will be set of GUIs, modules, & worksheets - input controls, output controls, front-end scenario 'settings', timeline plot, and input & output data viewer
    • Tool's file type fate is TBD, I am looking into add-in vs. macro wbk
    • 90% data can be organized into record/attribute 'tables'
    • Data records could range from 10 to perhaps 5,000, sometimes with 30+ fields (too early to tell)
    • ~15 inputs
    • ~5 inputs are CSV reports (from another software)
    • ~2 inputs are formatted text 'messages'
    • Remaining inputs (record/attribute), as well as output reports/files, will be managed in a way that is compatible with one of the resultant data import solutions identified here