none
Cannot be translated into a LINQ to Entities store expression RRS feed

• Question

• I am relatively new to LINQ to Entities, but use LINQ to Sql a lot.

I am using Visual Studio 2013 with EntityFramework 6 and MVC 5.

The biggest difference between the two is that Linq2SQL has the ability to perform conversions inside the SELECT query itself whereas LINQ2Entities is not as forgiving and must have the right conversion in place before executing the LINQ query. Therefore, I am getting the error: **The specified method 'System.Decimal ConvertToDecimal(Byte)' on the type 'BillYeagerDB.EdmxExtensionMethods' cannot be translated into a LINQ to Entities store expression.**

After doing much research, especially on stackoveflow and here with this question, I discovered a link (http://stackoverflow.com/questions/5971521/linq-to-entities-does-not-recognize-the-method-double-parsesystem-string-met) that hopefully would work. I'm sure the example the author gives works, but he was working with the ObjectContext and I am working with the DbContext.

I'm also sure it will work for me, but I think I'm just designing the extension method incorrectly (which gives me the above error). Note that this specific issue is with the *AvgRating* variable in the Linq query. Once I can get this to work, I can do the same type of fixing for any other conversions. Note that *AvgRating* is defined as type Decimal and *a.Rating.RatingValue* is defined as type Byte.

If somebody can straighten me out on this, I would greatly appreciate it.

Here is my code. I'm trying to use the following query, which I know won't work (as mentioned before) because of the conversion issue.

**Original LINQ Query:**

namespace BillYeagerDB
        {
            public class BillYeagerDB
            {
                public async Task<List<RestaurantList>> GetRestaurantListAsync()
                {
                    try
                    {