Exchange 2016 and GSuite mail flow issue RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

I am having issues with a specific email address suddenly no longer able to send us emails.  Let me give you a clear picture.  

I have a subscription to GSuite and my MX record is pointed to Google.  We use GSuite Exclusively for email archiving and email filtering.  We do NOT use GSuite for anything else.  The filtered email is then forwarded onto my on premise Exchange 2016 CU12 server.  Clients are using Outlook 2016 Pro.  

Until last week, an email address was able to send an automated email to 3 of my users without any issue.  The automated email comes from an app.  The user on the app completes a form and a copy of the form is emailed to these users as a PDF attachment.  

When I log into my Google Admin console and search for the emails under the Email Log Search option, I can find where Google is attempting to send them onto my Exchange server, but it fails.  When I pull up the message, I can see in the logs it states, "The recipient server did not accept our requests to connect."  Further, "The receiving host refused the connection from our servers."  

When I search on my exchange server using an Exchange Message Tracking GUI powershell script (https://gallery.technet.microsoft.com/office/Exchange-message-tracking-73a2604c), I cannot find any mention of the failing emails, just the ones that were coming thru last week.  

In summary, I have Google/Gsuite stating that these emails are being rejected.  However, there is no log of the failure on the Exchange server.  Again, this has been working for months now and then suddenly on Wednesday last week, it quit working.  Thank you for any input or suggestions you may offer.  

Wednesday, September 9, 2020 2:37 PM

Answers

• RESOLUTION.  

Below is a summary of the resolution to this post in case anyone comes across it in the future.  Again, Google GSuite Cloud customer with On Premise Exchange 2016 server.