none
Kinect SDK RRS feed

• Question

• Hello Guys,

I want to track some objects using Kinect, but my biggest problem is I don't know which library is better to use? (Microsoft SDK, openCV, ...)

I studied about these different SDK's and understood Microsoft SDK is better to use for body not other objects but I am not sure if this is true or not.

Any help would be appreciated,

Kind Regards,

Fariba

Tuesday, April 24, 2012 6:25 PM

All replies

• you an track inanimate objects using kinect sdk but the functionality isnt built in right now at the moment so you would have to code the formulas yourself and openCV was intels graphics technology open source project if I remember right so it probably wouldnt help with tracking objects but you could identify the object with the kinect depth stream by doing manipulation but somewhere it requires bit manipulation which Im not familar with. Some people have implemented finger tracking but usually go through all the points of the finger they plan on tracking using the depth stream.

Once you eliminate the impossible, whatever remains, no matter how improbable, must be the truth. - "Sherlock holmes" "speak softly and carry a big stick" - theodore roosevelt. Fear leads to anger, anger leads to hate, hate leads to suffering - Yoda. Blog - http://jefferycarlsonblog.blogspot.com/

Tuesday, April 24, 2012 7:03 PM
  • Is there any other library that I can use much easily for tracking objects?

How about openNi, openKinect?

Is there any other library that I can use but do not know?

• Edited by Frb_yoo Wednesday, April 25, 2012 7:08 AM
    Wednesday, April 25, 2012 7:07 AM
  • Try to have look on

- OpenNI

OpenNI Concepts

OpenNI and Kinect

- OpenCV

Introduction to OpenCV

Tutorials

Thanks,
    MOHAMED A. SAKR | Software Development Lead Engineer | EgyptNetwork
    Please remember to click “Mark as Answer” on the post that helps you. This can be beneficial to other community members. Also try to Vote as Helpful