none
Avoiding changing Connection Strings after SQL Upgrade/Migration

Question

• I'm a DBA with a question. I am upgrading from sql2008R2 to SQL 2014. I'd like to do a side-by-side upgrade. When I am finished, I'd like to change the name of the upgraded server to the old server's name so that all connections from applications still work. Is this possible? I don't need lot's of detail just is it possible.
    Wednesday, February 1, 2017 7:50 PM

All replies

• Hi yes it is possible, one step after the host rename is to run sp_dropserver and sp_addserver as per https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms143799(v=sql.120).aspx
    Wednesday, February 1, 2017 8:28 PM
  • It's possible.

After renaming computer on the network, you'll also need to rename it in SQL Server metadata:
    Rename a Computer that Hosts a Stand-Alone Instance of SQL Server

Make sure none of the applications/user are connecting via IP address, or the connection won't work or won't connect to the correct host.

Hope that helps,

Phil Streiff, MCDBA, MCITP, MCSA

• Edited by philfactor Wednesday, February 1, 2017 8:31 PM
    • Proposed as answer by KevinNicholas Thursday, February 2, 2017 1:59 AM
    Wednesday, February 1, 2017 8:31 PM
  • Unfortunately this is a confusing topic - as are the answers. So far your responders assume that you intend to rename the server machine and that you have or will install both instances as the default instance on separate machines. But this does not match your description of "side by side". The short answer is that you CANNOT rename a named instance. You can change the machine name of a computer with a default instance - which is similar to the concept of "renaming the default instance". But it really isn't - the default instance has no actual name beyond that of the machine it is running on.
    Wednesday, February 1, 2017 8:44 PM