LINQ to SQL: Generic OrderBy RRS feed

• Question

• User-1839033458 posted

Hi people,

i'm new in LINQ to SQL and MVC, and i'm trying to make my data paginable and sorteable, the paginate issue was succesful solved with .Skip and .Take, but now the problem is with the OrderBy method. I want to make it generic, now to sort it i have to write "u => u.UserID" as orderExpression paraemter.

UsersService.GetAllPaginated(page ?? 0, PageSize, u => u.UserID, sortAscending.Value, out TotalRows);

this is the repository method:

public IEnumerable<TEntity> GetAllPaginated<S>(int pageIndex, int pageSize, Expression<Func<TEntity, S>> orderByExpression, bool ascending, out int totalRows)
            {
                ObjectSet<TEntity> ReturnSet;            
                ReturnSet = ObjectContext.CreateObjectSet<TEntity>();

totalRows = ReturnSet.Count();

return (ascending)
                                    ?
                                        ReturnSet.OrderBy(orderByExpression)
                                         .Skip(pageIndex * pageSize)
                                         .Take(pageSize)
                                         .ToList()
                                    :
                                        ReturnSet.OrderByDescending(orderByExpression)
                                         .Skip(pageIndex * pageSize)
                                         .Take(pageSize)
                                         .ToList();
            }

And now i tried to call the GetAllPaginated method in this way:

var param = Expression.Parameter(typeof(Entities.User), "user");

var SortExpr = Expression.Lambda<Func<Entities.User, object>>(Expression.Convert(Expression.Property(param, sortColumn), typeof(object)), param);

UsersData = UsersService.GetAllPaginated(page ?? 0, PageSize, SortExpr, sortAscending.Value, out TotalRows);

But i got this error after the ReturnSet.OrderBy method is executed: