multiple CS Files (CS newbee) RRS feed

• Question

•  

I am a C++ programmer and I am working on my first C# program. Of course, my mind is still thinking C++.  I  have a very BASIC question.  (Please forgive my ignorance.)

Form1.cs has gotten to Long.  I don't like long files.  In C++/CLI I simply create another cpp, prototype my function in Form1.h, include Form1.h in the cpp file, and define the function with access to anything in Form1.cpp.   CS does not have a .h.  It seems like all functions are expected to be contained in ONE file. Surely not!  I'm sure It's just  ignorance on my part.

So how do I break up a long file into multiple cs files?

Friday, November 16, 2007 7:26 PM

Answers

• If I understand your question correctly, you want to split a single class into multiple physical files. If this is what you intend to do, then you can simply define your class with the partial keyword like:

public partial class Form1

{

}

and write code in it. When you want to span this code to another physical file then add a .cs file from your designer as specified by BigTuna99 and then write the following again and write whatever code you want to:

{

}

When the compiler compiles your project, it will automatically merge the code in both the files and things will work the same way as it would have if you had one file.

Please note that this feature exists only from .Net 2.0 onwards. So if you are using a version below .Net 2.0 please ignore everything above.

If your intent is not to split a class into 2 or more physical files and just want to define class1 in one physical file and class2 in another physical file, then you can simply create two physical files, one for class1 and another for class2 and make sure that the two classes are in the same namespace.

cheers

Sharad

Friday, November 16, 2007 7:49 PM

All replies