none
Table Design - Material per scaffold RRS feed

• Question

• Hi Everyone, 

I'm relatively new to Database design and I am struggling with putting this type of table together. 

I will be pulling a CSV from AutoCAD that is going to be grabbed by Access VBA, but what I am looking for is:

- Access to store this information in a table that holds all of the material from the CSV associated to one ID in one line

I am getting tripped up because:

-Either I am to build a table that has every possible component listed, which could get messy when adding or modifying that list.

-Or I many-many relationship that will be huge table with a ScaffoldID, MaterialID, MaterialQuantity in every line row, and some of the scaffolds have 50-60 types of Material.   

I will have pictures if i am not explaining myself well enough, after my account is verified. 

Any help would be greatly appreciated

-Matt 

Friday, April 7, 2017 3:46 PM

Answers

• -Or I many-many relationship that will be huge table with a ScaffoldID, MaterialID, MaterialQuantity in every line row, and some of the scaffolds have 50-60 types of Material.   

I would think you need three tables --

tblScaffold -

ScaffoldID - primary key

DesignDate

Project

DesignBy

ApproveDate

ApproveBy

tblMaterial -

MaterialID - primary key

Description

tblScaffoldMaterial -

ScaffoldMaterialID - primary key

ScaffoldID – foreign key

MaterialID – foreign key

Build a little, test a little

• Marked as answer by PEIMatt Monday, April 10, 2017 6:18 PM
    Friday, April 7, 2017 5:25 PM

All replies

• Hi Matt,

It would also help to see what a CSV might look like, but the second option sounds to be the correct way to approach this.

Just my 2 cents...

Friday, April 7, 2017 3:52 PM
  • -Or I many-many relationship that will be huge table with a ScaffoldID, MaterialID, MaterialQuantity in every line row, and some of the scaffolds have 50-60 types of Material.   

I would think you need three tables --

tblScaffold -