none
Sub Forms and Tab Control primary key help RRS feed

• Question

• I am a school student working on a Microsoft access database, and have little experience in the software. The scope of the task is beyond what has been studied, and is complex.

I have created an input form for students to enter their information using sub forms and tab controls. I have 5 separate tables that record specific data: student details, contact details etc. From these I made related forms. In my combined student input from, each tab in the tab control has a sub form from these individual table forms. After inputting all of my data, I opened the related tables and realised that the primary key used by all these tables/forms was only being recorded from the first tab (student details). In the other tables/forms (contact details etc.) a primary key for that record is given, but not the relating foreign key.

When I created the sub forms I linked them through the wizard with this primary key, however, it does not record in my tables. When I created the blank from my initial record source was the Student Details tables, however I’m not sure if this has something to do with the problem. Is there a method to either fix or work around this issue?

Sunday, February 4, 2018 3:50 AM

All replies

• Tabs are part of the main form. Subforms, regardless of where they are located are related by the  by their master/child relationship properties.

Assuming arguendo, subform1 has the primary key

Subformb2 Master property is forms!mainform!subform1.form.primarykey;

Subform2 Child property is forms!mainform!subform1.form.foreignkey.

If subform2 doesn't tumble to the correct row when form1 changes rows, on the form1 AfterUpdate eevent, add forms!mainform!subform2.requery.

Sunday, February 4, 2018 9:23 PM
  • Take a look at FormsDemo.zip in my public databases folder at:

https://onedrive.live.com/?cid=44CC60D7FEA42912&id=44CC60D7FEA42912!169