Trying to add my own contentplaceholder in sharepoint 2013 masterpage RRS feed

• Question

• hi all,

I'm new in sharepoint 2013.I'm trying to add my own contentplaceholder in sharepoint 2013 masterpage( near search textbox).  like <asp:ContentPlaceHolder ID="PlaceHolderMain" runat="server"></asp:ContentPlaceHolder> and  
     <asp:Content runat="server" ContentPlaceHolderID="PlaceHolderTopMenu1">   </asp:Content> in my layout. but its not working, nothing is rendered when i refresh my page. I also tried  to add code generated by snippet galary and put it into html page. That also did not work. can you please help me how to add my own contentplaceholder in sharepoint 2013 masterpage.

Wednesday, May 21, 2014 2:00 PM

All replies

• Yes you can check below:

Custom content placeholders on a custom master page

http://office.microsoft.com/en-in/office365-sharepoint-online-small-business-help/branding-issues-that-may-occur-when-upgrading-to-sharepoint-2013-HA104052656.aspx

http://technet.microsoft.com/de-de/library/dn178510%28v=office.15%29.aspx

http://books.google.co.in/books?id=O6sBm5sCEpoC&pg=RA1-PA246&lpg=RA1-PA246&dq=sharepoint+create+own+content+placeholders&source=bl&ots=tNiDN-G26n&sig=WPrJ6AE3O0izKe2d-brZzQJBfhQ&hl=en&sa=X&ei=L7J8U9DyB4qxuASb1IHQCg&ved=0CF0Q6AEwCA#v=onepage&q=sharepoint%20crecreating%20custom%20content%20placeholderscreating%20custom%20content%20placeholders&f=false

Wednesday, May 21, 2014 2:06 PM
  • Thanks for your response but actually the issue is we jus want to add a custom place holder in master page.

adding

<!--CS: Start PlaceHolderTopMenu1 Snippet-->
                    <!--SPM:<%@Register Tagprefix="SharePoint" Namespace="Microsoft.SharePoint.WebControls" Assembly="Microsoft.SharePoint, Version=15.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=71e9bce111e9429c"%>-->
                    <!--MS:<SharePoint:AjaxDelta ID="DeltaPlaceHolderTopMenu1" IsMainContent="true" runat="server">-->