Lightswitch ViewModel Limitation RRS feed

• Question

• I am studying Lightswitch few weeks now and in a number of occasions I came upon a common requirement. I want inside my ViewModel (screen designer, left side) to create an entity that has nothing to do with my conceptual model, actually it is not conceptual the way it is implemented in LS but the actual tables footprint, according to my opinion. This is a viewmodel's responsibility to allow me to create entities according to my UI flow that have nothing to do with my conceptual model or tables structure.

Am I missing something here? Am I the only one having this need? The only way I can see this to be doable is by using SL views or custom controls in LS but I wonder what waits me in the next corner.

I don't want this entity to be editable but for presentation purposes only.

Thank you...

Thursday, December 27, 2012 3:34 PM

Answers

• I agree Yann, with this way I can have what I wanted, but I hoped LS could cover that common limitation. After all according to MVVM pattern in ViewModel you can transform your data as you like before presenting them in the UI and that is why you have that middle tier.You have the View, the ViewModel and the Model. In LS I get the feeling that you have the View, the Model and the ViewModel is there just for binding. No data tranformation... If we just could create in the View Model a custom class, that would do for most of my scenarios.

Perhaps is would help to understand why LightSwitch is the way it is if you consider that unlike "pure" MVVM, LightSwitch provides a extra things like:

• Change tracking
    • Validation

These things allow for rapid application development. Imagine if LightSwitch didn't have it. Make a bunch of changes on the screen and you would have to handle all validation and data persistent issues manually! :)

When you create a WCF RIA Service you are required to provide the minimum that LightSwitch needs for it's style of MVVM.