none
IT SOS - Powershell error during new site deployment RRS feed

• Question

• Hello all.

I am new to SharePoint (any version) and have built a new 2013 infrastructure for a customer. It consists of 2 x SharePoint Application Servers and 3 x SharePoint Web Front End Servers. The customer has had a third party develop a new application to be deployed onto the new infrastructure, but they have thrown it over the fence and stopped responding to e-mails. So I have the task of deploying the application which is mostly going ok for now but I have ran into an error that I am hoping is a simple fix. So apologies if I get some terminology wrong or sound like I don't know what I am doing, its because I don't.

The script I am running is supposed to do the following:-

Create a new Site Collection

Activate web application level features

Deploy pages with a number of web parts in place

Create SharePoint Permissions

Create SharePoint Groups

I think most of it works except for the web part and page setup section. The error I see near the end of the script reports:-

"You cannot call a method on a null-valued expression.

$XTR = New-Object System.Xml.XmlTextReader($webPartDefinition.File.OpenBinaryStream())"

I don't know what an expression is, but am assuming it is either "$XTR" or "$webPartDefinition".

The section in the code looks like this:-

foreach($xWebPart in $xPage.WebParts.ChildNodes)
                    {
                        $wpCatalog = $site.GetCatalog([Microsoft.SharePoint.SPListTemplateType]::WebPartCatalog)
                        $webPartDefinition = $wpCatalog.GetItems() | Where-Object{$_.Name -eq $xWebPart.Name}

$XTR = New-Object System.Xml.XmlTextReader($webPartDefinition.File.OpenBinaryStream())

$wp = $wpm.ImportWebPart($XTR, [ref] $err)             
                        $wpm.AddWebPart($wp,$xWebPart.Zone, $xWebPart.Index)  
                    }