none
How to search when Iqueryable type is unknown? RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

I am trying to write a generic function that will allow me to search a table and return the rows where the named field contains the search term.  When I run this code, it tells me that 'where' is not a method of Queryable.  I've been trying to figure it out for about a week now with no luck. 

For example, at run time, I am asking the user to select a tablename, select the field to search, and type the keyword to search for, I want to be able to call this function and have it return the results.

I hope i've made my question clear - I'm still quite new to this (using VB also) and am trying to understand everything line by line.  Thanks in advance!

The code I have been messing with is listed below:

<System.Runtime.CompilerServices.Extension()> _

Public Function iLike(ByVal source As IQueryable, ByVal tableName As String, ByVal fieldName As String, ByVal keyword As String) As IQueryable
    Dim Type As Type = Type.GetType("MyNamespace." + tableName)
    Dim Parameter = Expression.Parameter(Type, "Entity")
    Dim [property] = Type.GetProperty(fieldName)
    Dim propertyAccess = Expression.MakeMemberAccess(Parameter, [property])
    Dim findExp = Expression.Lambda(propertyAccess, Parameter)
    Dim methodName As String = "Where"
    Dim resultExp As MethodCallExpression = Expression.[Call](GetType(Queryable), methodName, New Type() {Type, [property].PropertyType}, source.Expression, Expression.Quote(findExp))
    Return (source.Provider.CreateQuery(resultExp))
    End Function

Tuesday, January 19, 2010 7:09 PM

Answers

All replies

• You might want to check out the Dynamic LINQ samples included in the Visual Studio samples folder installed on your machine. 

It includes a set of routines for dynamically creating IQueryable's based on strings.

[)amien
    Wednesday, January 20, 2010 7:39 AM