none
How to deploy a Windows Kernel Mode Driver to a VM? RRS feed

• Question

• Dear all,

first of all, I am new to Windows Kernel Mode Driver development. So, I just wanted to start with a downloaded sample driver from the MSDN (inspect - Windows Filtering Platform). I have set up my environment as described in the following MSDN description [ http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/windows/hardware/ff538143%28v=vs.85%29.aspx ]. So my setup looks as follows:

Win 7 (64bit) [Host]     --- named pipe -->      Win 7 (32bit) [VM]

Furthermore, in the VM I did the following tasks:

• disabled UAC by setting the corresponding registry key to 0
    • enabled administrator account and set a password

On the host OS I have VS2012 from which I want to deploy the built kernel mode driver to the the target VM. I followed the instructions how to configure VS2012 for deploying kernel mode drivers [ http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/windows/hardware/hh454835%28v=vs.85%29.aspx ]

In VS2012, I can build the driver but unfortunately deploying fails:

1>  Deploying driver files for project "D:\WFP\Examples\TrafInsp\C++\inspect Package\inspect Package.vcxproj".  Deployment may take a few minutes...
    1>C:\Program Files (x86)\MSBuild\Microsoft.Cpp\v4.0\V110\Platforms\Win32\ImportAfter\DriverDeployment8.0.targets(69,9): error : Could not connect to the remote computer for deployment.
    1>C:\Program Files (x86)\MSBuild\Microsoft.Cpp\v4.0\V110\Platforms\Win32\ImportAfter\DriverDeployment8.0.targets(69,9): error : Object reference not set to an instance of an object.

Any hints are appreciated! I am struggling with this error for a few days...

Thanks in advance,

Sven

Tuesday, June 25, 2013 2:03 PM

All replies

• Hello Sven,

Hope it will help you.

Kernel Mode and User Mode driver debugging using Visual Studio 2012 (VS 2012) and target Virtual Machine (VM) onto  the same Host Machine

Scenario: