none
Custom Backstage UI for File->New in Word 2010 RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I would ike to create a custom backstage UI for the Word 2010 File->New command.

I already know how to hide Word's New command and add a custom command.

In the custom UI I want to list out our company's list of Templates.

I want the list to look like Word's Template list.

When I click one of our templates I need to be able to handle an event that creates a new document from our template.

I'm new to using XML to customise the UI - not sure if I should be using layouts, groups, tasks.

BTW, a Template Preview column to the right of the list would be great too.

Thanks for your help.

Tuesday, November 1, 2011 12:11 AM

Answers

• Hi Martin

I'm afraid your problem description is very general and far-reaching. That makes it difficult to know where to start!

Could you please describe (or give the exact commands to see) what you're thinking of when you say "Word's template list"? I tend to think in terms of the old dialog box, so I want to be sure we're on the same wave-length.

Also, I believe what shows in the default view can be customized by companies with an network server and IT in certain aspects. Have you checked into those possibilities in the Office Resource Kit for Word 2010? (No need to reinvent the wheel, so to speak, if the capability might already be built-in. I would send you to the TechNet forums but I just did a quick search and it appears the support folks there aren't interested in really researching questions and just spout canned responses <sigh>. So if a "peer" with real experience doesn't happen to look in, you won't get any useful support.)

Have you worked through the articles on customizing the Backstage UI at http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/office/ff808348.aspx?