none
Outlook 2010 - Compile\Run script works in editor, doesnt work when applied to rule RRS feed

• Question

• Hi Everyone! I'm turning here for help as I don't think I have anywhere else to go...

Ok...long story short - I have no experience in programming at all, but managed to piece together 2 existing scripts to get the following :

I work as an Tier 2 analyst and would like to take the Service Desk's emails (with Summary: and End User: fields), and send a blank email with just the parsing from the orig. email in the subject line.

Example -

This message is to notify you that Incident 2536677 has been assigned to the XXXXXX IS Tech Support.

Affected Service:

Open Date:
    Incident Area:
    Response Target:
    Resolution Target:
    Summary: Security Alert Message on Startup

End User: Jane Smith

So my end result would be an email with "Ticket - Security Alert Message on Startup - Jane Smith" as the subject line. This would be ran in a rule that would take the incoming email, send it to a Ticket Alerts folder and then run the script.

It works like a charm when I compile and run on a selected email with the above criteria from within the editor. What I am currently getting when sending test emails to it is an email with "Ticket - " and that's it. It appears it is now not appending the "testSubject" results. I've done a lot of looking around but at this point I am just wasting hours on hours as I don't have the programming knowledge required to determine what exactly the issue is. So I know for a fact the script is running as it created the new email and adds the "Ticket - " string I put in myself.

This is in Module1, also there were a few items commented out, as they were not needed, or so my semi-smart programmer coworker had said. I also edited out my current email address with a fake one.

Any help would be appreciated, Or even pointing me in the correct direction.

Sub Test(item As Outlook.MailItem)
    Call GetValueUsingRegEx
    End Sub