none
How do I error handle when a cell is blank and there are many routines RRS feed

• Question

• I have a sheet with a lot of code that I have worked on throughout the last couple of years but I am new to VBA and did not incorporate any error handling. I tried a few things but I could never make it work. It did not really affect me until recently. Most of my routines are driven by a cell that contains a sales price (cell D5). I am using Worksheet_Change ByVal target as range to change things when different cells are changed so when the sales price is changed it starts running routines. What I have noticed is that this particular routine is the first one that gives me a VBA error if I delete the sales price in cell D5. So I thought I can ask someone to give me a simple code to catch the empty cell before the routine fires and maybe a popup saying "Sales Price cannot be blank" and perhaps revert to the previous value of that cell. The debug error takes me to the line of code that starts with "If Sheets("Main").Range("D6").Value < 0.8001"

Sub Calc_MI()
    If Sheets("Main").Range("D12").Value = "FHA" Then
    Sheets("Main").Range("D16").Value = 0.85
    Else

If Sheets("Main").Range("D6").Value < 0.8001 Or Sheets("Main").Range("D12").Value = "VA" Then
    Sheets("Main").Range("D16").Value = ""
    Else
    If Sheets("Main").Range("G14").Value > 0.45 Then
       Sheets("Main").Range("D16").Value = (Sheets("Closing Costs").Range("BP100").Value + Sheets("Closing Costs").Range("BP101").Value + Sheets("Closing Costs").Range("BP102").Value)
    Else
       Sheets("Main").Range("D16").Value = (Sheets("Closing Costs").Range("BP100").Value + Sheets("Closing Costs").Range("BP102").Value)
    End If
    End If
    End If
    End Sub

Any help would be greatly appreciated :-)

MEC

Sunday, October 7, 2018 4:56 AM

All replies

• You mention that the routines are called from Worksheet_Change when cell D5 is changed.

You could do something like this: