Custom Field Template won't associate with Column / foreign Key edit is not using edit version? RRS feed

• Question

• User1184604244 posted

Ok so i have two problems here. This is a repost from this post here: http://social.msdn.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/adodotnetentityframework/thread/f504d960-2998-4dc8-acd7-d327e5f42499/#f504d960-2998-4dc8-acd7-d327e5f42499

Please read above and post responses to that one here or their, doesn't matter much to me really.

My main problem is that I'm unable to set a custom field template to associate with a specific column in my database.

New problem i'm having is that I have a foreign key reference that has a field in the row i'm trying to edit, but instead of giving me a drop down box it's giving me the hyperlink button still even in the edit form. What things do I need to do to make it use the drop down box of the foreignKey_edit.aspx?

Please be patient i'm very new to the EF framework and scaffold models.

Tyler

Monday, March 19, 2012 3:37 PM

All replies

• User-330204900 posted

well the first issue is you can't do the update of the undelying data except in the Extract values method please see the defaul Boolean_Edit field template.

Tuesday, March 20, 2012 12:39 PM
  • User1184604244 posted

well the first issue is you can't do the update of the undelying data except in the Extract values method please see the defaul Boolean_Edit field template.

So what about the rest? The foreign Key edit template shows that it should be a drop down menu when editing it, but it does not do this on the default details edit page. It only shows the link to the details page of the foreign key reference.