none
Copy data from Excel cells to a Word table RRS feed

• Question

• Hello all,

I've seen multiple forums regarding copying data from a Word table to an Excel spreadsheet, but not visa-versa...Here's my situation:

I have a form in Microsoft Office that contains a table like the one below

Name             Address                 City            State...

You guys get the drift. I want to copy cells from an excel spreadsheet containing the data needed into this table using vb.net. I'm new to vb and have finally just figured out proper excel/word automation.

Any help would be appreciated. I have tried to 'reverse engineer' code that allows for moving table data in Word to Excel with no success. I had this question in Visual Basic General, but I think it was the wrong forum so I moved it here hoping this is the correct one.

Thanks

-DP

Please reference the following thread for history (link below): Opening Word and Excel Files from VB.net
    http://social.msdn.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/vbgeneral/thread/7ea68bac-dbaf-4989-8eef-7d3586b2faa5

Thursday, April 26, 2012 12:31 PM

Answers

• Hi DP

I can move the question later. We're still in the process of determining which approach you want :-)

2. You don't have to change the order of the columns, although you don't want to use copy/paste if they aren't in order. Copy/paste isn't necessary and is usually frowned on as, if at all possible, the Clipboard should be avoided by the developer. It just makes a difference what options are open to you and how involved things can get.

6. (My response to this point affects point (1)).
    If the Excel workbook is basically a "source file" and shouldn't/needn't be manipulated by the user, then I see two possible efficient approaches, and one that's less so.