none
MS BI - Columnstore vs SSAS Tabular

Question

• I was a MS BI developer, been largely in SAP for a few years now.  I am revisiting the architecture of a successful MS BI datamart I wrote years ago to see how it can be modernized.

In SAP environment (HANA) I can make a view on a table that has a columnstore and that works as a pivotable/ad hoc data source.. what I generically call a "model".  In MS BI I need to load my relational db datamart into an SSAS Tabular datastore to get this same effect.  If SSAS Tabular and SQL columnstores are the same underlying tech, why do I need the extra layer?  SSAS Tabular, as I recall, is a very flat structure without all the niceties of SSAS Multidimensional from a navigation standpoint.  Perhaps this has changed.

Anyone going primarily with a Source-->Tabular architecture?  I am trying to reduce the layers because I find they make me less agile.  My old SQL datamarts have a SSIS/Staging/Star Data Mart/Cube setup and require a fair amount of work to add fields/tables.

In SAP environment I can also use SLT to have real-time updates to the staging layer, leading to overall a very lean environment to get real-time BI.  I know I sound like an SAP advertisement but that is not my purpose.  I am just trying to compare and get the best architecture with my MS BI setup.  As you probably know, those kinds of decisions stick with you.

In an ideal world, I update logic in one place to add extra fields and that's it!

Thank you for your responses.

-Ken

Thursday, July 12, 2018 2:39 AM

All replies

• Hi Ken,

Thanks for your question.

>>>If SSAS Tabular and SQL columnstores are the same underlying tech, why do I need the extra layer? 
    SSAS provides much more than query performance.
    1) A user friendly interface (the model), relationships, hierarchies, KPIs, role security, perspectives, custom drill through – a rich metadata layer of business logic.
    2) An analytical language of DAX to simplify and extend your BI queries.