none
Sorting with a function call that has no supported translation to SQL RRS feed

• Question

• I am doing a query that I'd like to do a 2 level sort on that contains a call to .TrimStart() on one of the table members but I'm getting a "Method 'System.String TrimStart(Char[])' has no supported translation to SQL" error. I'm relatively new to LINQ so go easy on me :)

So here's ideally what I'm trying to accomplish. I've got a simple table of categories and names, both strings.

var data = from c in dataContext.Name_tables
    orderby c.category, c.name.TrimStart('.', ':')
    select new {c.category, c.name};

obviously the TrimStart is causing the error since it won't translate to SQL. So I tried commenting out the orderby clause and converting it to a list with .ToList(), but it looks like I can't do a 2 level sort on a list using the .Order method on the list.

Can someone give me a hint how I might accomplish this? Essentially I need to sort on name but the sorting must ignore certain characters at the beginning of the name string. So for example a name of ".Joe" would be sorted near "John" and not near the top of the sort order because of the '.' character (for that category).

Monday, April 6, 2009 2:54 AM

Answers

• var data = from co in
                (from c in dataContext.Name_tables
                 select new {c.category, c.name}
                ).ToList()
               orderby co.category, co.name.TrimStart('.', ':')
               select co;

Kristofer - Huagati Systems Co., Ltd. - www.huagati.com
    • Marked as answer by esassaman Monday, April 6, 2009 11:48 PM
    Monday, April 6, 2009 10:20 AM
    Answerer

All replies

• var data = from co in
                (from c in dataContext.Name_tables
                 select new {c.category, c.name}
                ).ToList()
               orderby co.category, co.name.TrimStart('.', ':')
               select co;

• Marked as answer by esassaman Monday, April 6, 2009 11:48 PM