none
Visual Studio 2013 stopped working

Question

• I have been using Visual Studio 2013 to write C++ for several years. Now, I suddenly got a "Visual Studio stopped working" message whenever I try to open any of my C++ projects. I noticed that this behavior started after installing Visual Studio 2015 Community Edition (the About info says it is update 2). The little window with the "Microsoft Visual Studio 2013 stopped working" message has 2 buttons: "Debug" and "Close program". If I click "Debug", another small windows appears with the following message: "An unhandled Microsoft .NET Framework exception occurred in devenv.exe [1468]". The number in [] changes every time the message is shown.

I will very much appreciate your help to solve this issue.

With respect,
    Jorge Maldonado

Best regards, JORGE MALDONADO

Monday, May 16, 2016 10:35 PM

Answers

• Hi Jorge,

As we know, the devenv commands are for avoiding the third-party components or add-ins that could affect VS running.

The .NET Framework Setup Verification Tool is used for checking if there is anything wrong with the .NET Framework, the result indicates they are ok, it is side by side with VS.

>>the only issue is when I try to open my C++ projects.

How about going to Control Panel to see if the C++ redistributable packages are install well, you may see the following screenshot:

If not, please install them.

Please also check if you have installed the Microsoft Foundation classes for C++:

By the way, have you applied to the VS 2013 Update 5?

If not, please download from the following link:
    https://www.visualstudio.com/en-us/news/vs2013-update5-vs.aspx

Best Regards,

We are trying to better understand customer views on social support experience, so your participation in this interview project would be greatly appreciated if you have time. Thanks for helping make community forums a great place.

Click HERE to participate the survey.