none
error PRJ0050: Failed to register output.

Question

• Hi,

I am new to VC++ and just tried to replicate customer problem. They are creating custom application by using our SDK(VC++ DLL) and facing the below error. I created a Fresh VC++ MFC DLL Project in MS-Visual Studio 2008 without referring to our SDK DLL. Then I set the Register Output option to Yes from Project properties->Configuration properties->Linker->General section. When I rebuild the project it gives me below mentioned error.

error PRJ0050: Failed to register output. Please ensure you have the appropriate permissions to modify the registry.

I tried running the MS-Visual Studio in Administrator a/c but is still giving the same error. What is going wrong? Am I doing something wrong?

I appreciate your inputs.

Regards, Jignesh
    • Edited by jdp12383 Friday, November 4, 2011 5:27 AM
    Friday, November 4, 2011 5:26 AM

Answers

• Is it possible that if the current SDK DLL dependes on other SDK DLL which user has not referred lead to this PRJ0050 error?
    Regards, Jignesh
    • Marked as answer by jdp12383 Tuesday, November 15, 2011 7:22 AM
    Wednesday, November 9, 2011 10:40 AM

All replies

• From what you are sysing you created a COM DLL. There is no sense to registering a non COM DLL. Is this correct your DLL is a COM DLL?

If you have a COM DLL, than you could check the registration process using the debugger and starting your DLL with "Regsvr32 /i yourdllname".

Friday, November 4, 2011 9:00 AM
  • Thanks Bordon for your reply,

Sorry, but I am new to this VC++ world.

1. How can I find that DLL is a COM DLL? I just created a fresh project and set the Register Output option.

2. Is Register Output options only works for COM DLL and gives that error if DLL is not COM DLL?

3. What are the possibilities that can generate this error? Customer claims that they just replaced the previous version of SDK file with new one and this error. If they roll it back then it doesn't give this error.