Hardware Recommendation for developing Windows 8 Metro style apps

General discussion

• Hi everyone,

this is a bit out of topic, but I hope you can help me. I am looking for device that I can use for Windows 8 development AND day to day work. I was hoping to find powerful & touch enabled devices that have a resolution of either 1366x768, 1920x1080 or 2560x1440. I can find some options for the 1366x768 resolution like the Samsung Series 7 Slate or a Dell build to order Notebook - however I find it hard to use such a low resolution device for day to day work. I know that Metro style apps work fine with a mouse as well, but I think to finetune the experience a touch enabled monitor is best.

My background is that I'm on a decent mac book, I'm actually a Apple user for more than 10 years now. However Windows Phone & the recent Apple policies convinced me to go for Windows 8. So here I am, asking myself what to do - and of course I want to do the switch NOW. Right now my best guess would be to get the Samsung 7 Slate PLUS a desktop computer for the office, however that would be not ideal. What hardware do you guys use and do you think a 'simple' tablet suffices for testing?

Thanks in advance,

Robert

Metro makes me Mappy
    Monday, January 16, 2012 10:50 PM

All replies

• Hello enough2000,

Please review the following post regarding Hardware for Windows Developer Preview.
    http://blogs.msdn.com/b/b8/archive/2011/09/13/experiencing-windows-8-touch-on-windows-7-hardware.aspx

In the blog, Experiencing Windows 8 touch on Windows 7 hardware, there is a list of hardware on which the Microsoft Lab
    tested Windows Developer Preview. This might help with your search.

Thanks,

Marilyn
    Tuesday, January 17, 2012 6:11 PM
  • resolution of either 1366x768, 1920x1080 or 2560x1440...