none
Changing Data Fetching In Established VBA Project RRS feed

• Question

• Quick background. I'm a SOLO IT Admin/Director for small business and my strength is administration, workstation, server support, virtualization and "gadgets." They want me to finally turn some much needed attention to our plethora of Excel spreadsheets that contain a lot of VBA, many of which has been in use for 10+ years. I'm game, but got some study ahead of me.

I've been tasked to change a way a sheet grabs data. Sheet looks like this:

I added the column W when I started to work on this project and will explain below...

Basically this sheet grabs data (job numbers) from another sheet according to a date range and calculates them with other subroutines and places those job numbers in the cells starting at C2. For the sake of this post, no need to worry about all those other cells because if I can just get this started, the rest will fall into place.

We want to eliminate the need to look at that other sheet based upon date range to get the job numbers and just have the macro (RUN REPORT, top left) grab the "jobs" listed in column W that the user will manually enter.

There are the two code blocks that are used to grab this data...

Sub IMPORT_ALL_INFORMATION()

'Set variables
    Dim file_in As Long
    Dim strInput As Variant
    Dim i As Integer
    Dim j As Integer
    Dim l As Integer
    Dim sTmp As String
    Dim sJob As String
    Dim sSchedPath As String

'end setting variables
    Sheets("REPORT").Select
    Range("C2").Select

sSchedPath = "C:\Temp"
    Call apiCopyFile("\servername\Applications\Schedule\schedule-s\schedule, S.xls", "C:\Temp\schedule, S.xls", 0)
    dteStart = Application.Sheets("Report").Range("$G$27").Value
    dteEnd = Application.Sheets("Report").Range("$J$27").Value
    l = 4 ' First data row of schedule, S.xls
    j = 2 ' First job row of Plate & Bar Spreadsheet