none
Visual Studio Community 2015 - Cannot download a license.

Question

• My account has run out before, I had to wipe the registry keys pertaining to the license then reinstall VS 2015 community.

My account will die again in 14 days for visual studio 2015.

My visual studio 2013 community edition works fine, it successfully registered to me.

I have a visual studio account, and can sign into it.

I have a dev essentials subscription, and it opens when I click "use my benefits".

When I sign in to my account in visual studio it says "Personalization Account".

It has my name in the upper right hand corner is visual studio (under the close window X).

When I check for an updated license and sign in using the same user name/password it tells me this:

- We could not download a license. Please check your network connection or proxy settings.

Under the:

- License: 30 day trial (for evaluation purposes only)

- Your evaluation period will end on Saturday, December 10, 2016.

-There was a problem updating your license. Your trial will expire soon and you will no longer be able to access this product. Check for an updated license to continue without interruption.

Nobody has been able to help me.

This is extremely frustrating...

~LizardWiz()

~LizardWiz()

Saturday, November 26, 2016 5:08 PM

All replies

• Hi LizardWiz,

Welcome to the MSDN forum.

If this is your first time to sign in with your Microsoft account to extend the VS community 2015 or not? There are some factors that may be caused this failed login issue, please have a try with the following to troubleshot this issue:

1. Run the VS community 2015 with safe mode using the command: devenv /safemode, if it works fine that means the installed extensions may be corrupted the VS, please go to Tool—Extensions and Updates… and remove all installed extensions one by one to find the culprit.
    2. Run the VS community 2015 as the administrator, it will help us to excludes the permission issue.